Which lens next for DSLR?

April 16th, 2014
I am a total beginner when it comes to SLR photography and my husband would like to buy me some more kit for my birthday. I have a Canon EOS 400D with a standard 18-55mm lens and a 75-300mm lens that I very rarely use.

What lens should I go for next? Or is it a total waste of money until I figure out how to use those I already have? If so, what is the next toy for my camera bag! Appreciate any advice.
April 16th, 2014
35mm or 50mm. I just used a 35 and it was like butta. made such difference with my photos. I'm asking for one of those and an external flash for upcoming holidays (birthday,etc.).
April 16th, 2014
@yzzilp lucky girl! I have just ordered myself a macro lens f2.8............can't WAIT! I currently use my 18 - 135mm lens the most.
April 16th, 2014
@amandal Just looked on Amazon and I think the 35mm is probably outside the budget sadly!
April 16th, 2014
I wonder how they run used? I can't afford one either. Keep hoping I'll get a side job or sell some photos or...can't just up and buy any gear sadly.
April 16th, 2014
This was a portrait taken with the 35 last week. I was impressed as heck... http://365project.org/amandal/365-year-2/2014-04-08
April 16th, 2014
I say 50mm 1.8! I use that most of the time. You will have to get use to using your feet as the zoom but once you do you will never go back!
April 16th, 2014
@amandal Beautiful shot, that's exactly the sort of thing I want to try (if I can get my two rascals to stay still long enough!) Great idea on used...will do my research.
April 16th, 2014
@tealgarciaphotography Thanks, that's the one I'm looking at. Seems that people tend to love it.
April 16th, 2014
I would love to have a macro lens or a lensbaby.
April 16th, 2014