What moves you to hit "fav"?

July 22nd, 2014
I'm curious to know what criteria you use to decide when to hit the "fav" button. Do you "fav" photos that move you? Or do you look more at technique? Do you tend to "fav" the same types of photos over others (i.e. landscapes, cats, abstracts, etc.)? Or do you "fav" because you understand the work that goes into creating a masterpiece? Talk to me about what moves you to hit "fav" then post your favorite "fav" and tell me why you chose to hit the button for that photo.

I'll start...

I "faved" this photo of Riley by Sarah White @coolgirlsar because as a portrait photographer I understand how difficult it can be to shoot children. She also masterfully captured emotion in this portrait (an important, but not always easy task). In this photo of Riley, she has beautifully captured his mischievous side. He is such a cutie and this photo gives you a look into his incredible eyes. On the technical side, Sarah did a fantastic job with composing the photo in a creative way. The black background adds simplicity so that the focus is entirely on the subject. She has beautifully captured catch-light in his gorgeous eyes. The focus of the photo is perfect (always focus on the eyes in portraits) and the clarity brings out detail in his hair and face. This is an all-around fabulous photo - one I hope she has printed in large scale and has hanging on a wall in her home.

Now go to your "Favs", find your favorite, then tell me what moved you to hit the button.
July 22nd, 2014
Good morning,
My reasons for hit 'fav' vary. It could be technique, it could be application of rules, or it could be creativity, or simplicity, or pure ingenuity. If the person went out of the way to create a photo that too can catch me.

In this one an old fav of mine, Richard @vignouse portrayed something that we think of all the time. Where does the stuff disappear to when you put it all in the washer?

July 22nd, 2014