Technique Challenge 40 - Ghost shots

May 24th, 2015
DATES: begins Monday 25 May and ends Monday 8 June (midnight BST). I will post the winners later that week.

TAG YOUR PHOTOS: technique40

This is my first time hosting a challenge and I almost fell at the first hurdle as it took me quite a while to work out how to post a New Topic :( Please let me know if I've forgotten anything or done something wrong.

I've picked ghost shots as I'd really like to try one myself. This involves a slow shutter speed and probably some considerable trial and error (nothing new there then). A willing model would be good too, but it is possible to use your self-timer and be the subject yourself. The idea is to finish up with a kind of ghost-like see-through image. I hope I'm not the only one who thinks this might be worth a try! I found these two posts which might be useful: http://blog.muddyboots.org/2010/02/ghostly-effect-using-slow-shutter-speed.html and https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M4Dv4jlMd7s .

I'm really looking forward to seeing all your entries which will no doubt involve the usual creative and accomplished 365 shots. Please have a go. I've been on 365 for a few months and have entered quite a few of the challenges and learned such a lot, and enjoyed it!

Previous Challenges:

1. Low key
2. Motion blur
3. Split toning
4. Flipped reflections
5. Long exposure
6. Professional looking portraits
7. Mini portraits
8. Rim lighting
9. High/fast shutter speed
10. Vintage in modern
11. Double/multiple exposure
12. Forced perspective
13. Zoom burst
14. Multiplicity
15. Panning photography
16. ICM
17. Shaped bokeh
18. B&W
19. High key
20. In the night
21. One-light lighting
22. Refractions
23. Selective color
24. Tilt-shift
25. Into the sun/flare photography
26. white background
27. macro photography
28. Shooting blind
29. Framing
30. Light painting
31. Slow sync flash
32. Silhouettes
33. HDR (High Dynamic Range)
34. Minimalism
35. Panography
36. Blurism