Quick Advice please PSE vs CC/Lightroom

August 26th, 2016
I currently use PSE 11 and the Nik collection. Today I got a new camera (Nikon d750), went out and shot in RAW like I do, came home and found out that my PSE 11 is not compatible with the NEF format from the d750.

I'm faced with a choice of upgrading PSE to PSE 13 (PSE 14 is the current version but alas is not compatible with the Nik collection) OR should I switch to CC/Lightroom and lose the ability to use the Nik collection.

Let me mention that I'm very comfortable with PSE and the Nik Collection, and I use them daily. I have no experience at all with Lightroom/CC.

I'm so sad that right now I cannot even open my image from my new camera!

Thanks for input!

@tracys
August 26th, 2016
Hi Tracy,Why don,t you download View NX-i for downloading & storage & Capture NX-D which is designed specifically by Nikon for processing Raw photos.(They are Free on the Nikon site)
August 26th, 2016
I have CC and Lightroom and also have the Nik collection, so if you upgrade you won't loose it. You may have to download it again but it is free so that shouldn't be a problem. I found moving from PSE to CC was a breeze. Lightroom is not difficult either. There are loads of tutorials available on how to get to know both programs.
August 26th, 2016
@salza Thanks. Do you mind checking which version of CC you have? I think they just did an update and so now it won't work with the current CC. It did work on 2015.
August 26th, 2016
I have the latest version of CC and I used the Nik collection with it yesterday.
August 26th, 2016
""(PSE 14 is the current version but alas is not compatible with the Nik collection) ""

I am currently running PSE14 and the NIK collection works just fine ( http://365project.org/byrdlip/2016/2016-07-28 ). Though I am not an expert, or even a starting amateur with them