Halfway up the mountain view!

September 21st, 2021
I'm a beginner... and today I took my camera seriously, Nikon D5600 with kit lens 18-55mm! I spent the day trying to get some good landscape photos but it was soooo sunny and then not so sunny, cloudy and then not so cloudy! I just can not figure out what looks good after taking the photo. So today I didn't use the light exposure meter because I just didn't think about it... I didn't think about P or S prior to this post.. (googled before posting) but I also have 'in public taking pictures embarrassment' phobia! This causes me to take pictures quickly so as to avoid said embarrassment!
But I pushed through... I really, really want to get good at this... but even so, I don't know how to evaluate a 'good' exposure of a photo!
Example... I'm at at home. I tried using 'P' that gives me a constant fstop and changes the exposure. If I pan the room, the exposure changes with every move! Like millimeter movements! After checking, I felt that some pics were overexposed, others not so much! The same using 'S'. But I feel like I don't know what's the 'right' exposure! I've tried histograms... but that doesn't help. I don't understand them either!
I've watched a million videos, paid for some... none the wiser! Do I need a different lens for landscape? If so what do you recommend? Please help!!

Thanks guys for your patience!!
September 21st, 2021
Welcome to 365! This is a great place for learning and sharing. Early on my journey I attended a landscape workshop and was told to shoot in Aperture Priority Mode (that is A on your camera). For landscapes they said to set the aperture anywhere between f8 to f13 and let the camera figure out the shutter speed. Those settings will give you a large field of focus so the landscape should be sharp throughout. I also have my ISO set on Auto. With the camera figuring out the shutter speed and ISO, I am free to figure out the field of focus (f-stop #) I like.