365 Project can be a very intimate project and over the years many people have asked me to make their projects private or only accessible to a group of close friends.
Today I'm really pleased to say that I have come good on my promise to bring this feature to the site and all Ace members now have the ability to restrict their photos out of public view.

There is a full FAQ about the new privacy settings available to answer any questions you have, or continue reading for a brief overview of what is now possible.

Photo Privacy


Each of your photos will now have an option to be either "Publicly visible" or "Restricted" and only visible to approved followers. This allows you to safely post photos knowing that only your approved followers will be able to see them.

Profile Privacy


In addition to controlling who can access your photos, there is a similar option for who is able to see your Profile page, list of Favorite photos and your Follower / Following list.

Who can see my restricted photos?


You choose who can see your restricted photos through your follower list, allowing them to either see all of your photos or just the publicly available photos (it defaults to publicly available only).

Caveats


As with any system that imposes restrictions, there is a little more work to be done.
If you do choose to restrict your photos you will need to pre-approve trusted followers to be able to view your private photos, you do this through your list of followers. See the support section for more information.

Private photos will not be eligible to be found on the Browse pages of the site, such as the popular page, "tag" pages "day" pages "new faces" pages or the Top 20 Chart in the blog. This is for obvious reasons of privacy and respecting the photographers wishes.


Whilst not the most glamorous of features this will hopefully open up 365 Project to members that were otherwise put off by an all public album, as well as allowing you to share more personal details with your followers should you wish, without the associated risks of displaying that information publicly.

I hope you enjoy this new feature and I would be very grateful to get your feedback on this.

Please remember this is a new feature and there may be a few teething problems to begin with, if you notice anything unusual please email me at ross@365project.org



Share
Comments
posted April 1st, 2013
awesome!
posted April 1st, 2013

@scrivna great option for ACE members. I know some members had the occasional issue with some creepy people, so this may keep them on the site.
posted April 1st, 2013
this is great.. thanks so much for all of your efforts!!! should eliminate the trolls (for Ace members at least)
posted April 1st, 2013
Great feature addition. Thank you!
posted April 1st, 2013
I like this new feature very much and look forward to using it. Thanks Ross!
posted April 1st, 2013
It's a good option to have, thanks for implementing. It looks like it's a universal restriction, i.e. you can not restrict a unique group for each individual photo. Is that correct?
posted April 1st, 2013
@emsabh correct, I didn't want to overcomplicate it.
posted April 1st, 2013
Thank you so much, Ross!
posted April 1st, 2013
Well, that clears up my confusion. LOL
I just noticed that amongst all the other details listed for our photos, and I scratched my head, wondering if it had always been there and I never saw it before.

Yay, I'm not crazy. ;-)

And THANK YOU. I'll go check it out.
posted April 1st, 2013
That's great! Thanks Ross... I noticed it when I uploaded my pics today, and was very impressed. :)
posted April 1st, 2013
Totally cool-----High 5,Ross !!!!!:)
posted April 1st, 2013
A great feature for those who want it. You're amazingly responsive, and I never cease to be amazed at what a thriving place you've created.

For my part, I have an open trust of everyone who's joined this project, and I could make a case for an intermediate privacy level of "Members only". And I have to admit that I hope most people won't block out their photos. Part of what I love about the project is seeing people's full months as a whole—especially when they've done a monochrome, rainbow, or other theme-specific month.... so it may be a little jarring to see patchwork calendars. But that's just my opinion.

Thanks again for all you do, Ross.
posted April 1st, 2013
Thank you Ross. Sounds great.
posted April 2nd, 2013
great job Ross.
posted April 2nd, 2013
Thank you Ross, I was not sure when this was added, but had complete faith in that it was ok , keep up the good work.
posted April 2nd, 2013
I too wondered whether I'd just not noticed it before and thought perhaps I was going a bit bonkers! thanks for all you do!
posted April 3rd, 2013
Thanks Ross...this is great. I don't worry too much who sees my photos, but I do like to control who see my photos with my children in them.
posted April 3rd, 2013
Thanks Ross, that's completely awesome. No more crazy ex boyfriend worries now :D
posted April 7th, 2013
awesome. I am not currently an ACE member. but this certainly makes it more enticing. thanks.
posted April 7th, 2013
@wr1ghty LOL Martha
posted April 7th, 2013
Great additional feature. Thank you for all your effort, Ross!
Post a Comment
Sign up for a free account or Sign in to post a comment.